ACDA/Dance Magazine Awards

The National College Dance Festival grants two awards sponsored by ACDA and Dance Media: the ACDA/Dance Magazine Award for Outstanding Student Choreographer and the ACDA/Dance Magazine Award for Outstanding Student Performer. A panel of three adjudicators views student choreography and performances at the National Festival and chooses one student to receive each award.  Recipients of the awards are announced after the Festival.

2016 National College Dance Festival

Congratulations to all performing schools for three inspiring programs


Panelists Dana Tai Soon Burgess, Jennifer Stahl and Lisa Traiger determined the following:


fourtold,  choreography by Alfonso Cervera, Irvin Gonzalez, Hyoin Jun,
and Maggie Sniffen 
University of California, Riverside

"for the sophistication of its comedic approach to voice and 
movement style. Comedy in dance is not easy, yet this piece 
pulled it off very successfully. The humor had a freshness that 
showed true ingenuity."

Outstanding Student Choreography Honorable Mention:

For Example, choreography by Hannah Ingwerson in collaboration with the dancers (James DeSoto, Kyle Her, Farrah McAdam, Maddie Watson)
Sonoma State University

"for its creative use of structure and changing configurations, 
particularly among partnerships. The dynamics of the movement 
highlighted new moments within familiar music."


Tierra Foxworth in Curveless Smile
Choreographed by Tierra Foxworth
Coker College

"The dancer from Curveless Smile for the fearless way she 
embodied a powerful personal testimony. Her delivery had 
a vulnerability and openness, creating a genuine theatricality."

Outstanding Student Performance Honorable Mention:

Andrew Corpuz, Christopher Jensen, Jonathan Kim, and Kevin V Lopez in August
Choreography by Colin Connor (Guest Artist)
California State University, Fullerton

"The ensemble of August for their heroic and gracious movement. 
The dancers moved together exceptionally well, sharing a 
joyful energy onstage."